Three weeks into my trip!

I’ve been in my new home for three weeks now. It actually feels like I’ve been here for longer…

I met so many great people who stayed at the hostel.  My ties with my host family have gotten stronger, more family-like.  My Spanish skills have improved (getting used to their accent here was quite the challenge for me). I’m starting to be a familiar face to the grocery store staff and to some neighbours who always seem to be outside when I walk by… Amicable “Holà! Buenos días!” are now exchanged with friendly smiles.  I have taken on new tasks at the hostel. I got used to everyday life here and the culture – appreciating its differences and simplicities. I got used to (sort of) the bugs, the barking dogs, etc.

There are some things that you just don’t get used, though: the birds, the beauty of the jungle and the sounds of howler monkeys, to name a few.  I still hold my breath every time I hear them, not to miss a decibel. Fun fact: did you know you could hear howlers up to 5km away?

On another note, I finally spent a few hours at the beach yesterday (first time since I’m here!) to catch some rays and relax with a book and some chips. I splurged and bought a tube of Pringles which cost about 6$ here! I have to say, having such expensive chips is a good method of craving-control! 

Since I didn’t really take any pictures since my last post, here are shots of my time at the beach yesterday with my awesome Pura Vida hat (which I got for free when I bought beer). Lol 

Pura Vida y Feliz Navidad! 

Adelita


Note: if you haven’t subscribed to my blog yet, go click on the “follow” button to get an email notification when a new blog post is added. 

7 thoughts on “Three weeks into my trip!

  1. ¡Buenos días Adelita! Mientras estoy desayunando con té y pan tostado esparcido con Nutella, se ve afuera un paisaje blanco de nieve, el cual es claramente diferente del tuyo. Tomo unos minutos para comentar tu blog! Agradezco las fotos del mar y de la arena, humm que me calientan la piel y el espíritu además de hacerme soñar ja ja ja. Hoy, el 24 de diciembre, estaré ocupada a preparar la comida para recibir la familia Gaudet esta noche después de la misa. Todos llegaron alrededor de las 23:30. Espero que todavía podrás conectarte a Skype para que nos deseemos Feliz Navidad en vivo. Será genial, ¿no? Creo que nadie sospecha nada! ji ji ji. Te hermana está ya visitando Costa Rica como loca y me imagino que tu tienes unas salidas planeadas para el grupo. Bueno, muchas gracias nuevamente por compartir tu aventura con nosotros mi Reina de Pura Vida! Siempre es un real placer leerte. En el fondo, a todos les quisieran vivir algo similar, incluyendo tu querida mamá! Pero eso será por otro tiempo, y claro antes de que me vuelva una vieja Reina.. Cuídate como lo haces bien hasta ahora. Nos pensamientos están contigo, siempre! Tu quiero mucho hijita. Nos vemos más tarde!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Buenas tardes mamita! 🙂 Nos paisajes son claro diferente!! La temperatura también. Espero que la preparación de la comida fue sin problema. Creo que tu vas a impresionar sus invitados, como siempre!! Voy a llamarte para Skype más tarde, digamos a las 23:45? Todo el mundo será en su casa, seguramente! Hasta luego y te quiero muchísimo también xxx
      (Wow, tu me fais travailler toi la la!! Lol j’espère qu’il n’y a pas trop d’erreurs)

      Like

  2. Oh my Adele, 3 weeks already! I’m glad you are getting familiar with their lifestyle and enjoying their culture and natural beauty. In the Amazon we had a howler yelling at us from 10 feet away, and yes they are loud. If he would of jumped in our boat I was jumping out. The caimans looked friendlier than him. hahaha!!! Have a merry Christmas and we will talk later tonight. Love you. XXX

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

